Prof. Rui Paulo da Silva Martins


Rui P. Martins (IEEE Member’88 – Senior Member’99 – Fellow’08), born in April 30, 1957, received the Bachelor, Masters, and Ph.D. degrees, as well as the Habilitation to Full-Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computers from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (DECE), Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), U. of Lisbon, Portugal, in 1980, 1985, 1992 and 2001, respectively. He has been with the DECE / IST, U. of Lisbon since October 1980, being now a Full-Professor.

Since Oct. 1992, has been on leave from U. of Lisbon and with the DECE, Faculty of Science and Technology (FST), University of Macau (UM), Macao, China, where he is a Chair-Professor since Aug. 2013. In FST, he was Dean (1994-1997), and has been UM’s Vice-Rector since Sep. 1997. From Sep. 2008 to Aug. 2018, Vice-Rector (Research) and from Sep. 2018 to Aug. 2023, Vice-Rector (Global Affairs). Within the scope of his teaching and research activities he has taught 21 bachelor and master courses and, in UM, has supervised (or co-supervised) 47 theses, Ph.D. (26) and Masters (21). Authored or Co-authored 1,000+ publications: 10 books and 13 book chapters; 57 Patents, USA (39), China (15) & Taiwan (3); 858 papers, in scientific journals (405) and in conference proceedings (453); as well as other 80 academic works (h-index=54/citations=13,000+, Google Scholar). He created in 2003 the Analog and Mixed-Signal VLSI Research Laboratory of UM, elevated in January 2011 to State Key Laboratory (SKLAB) of China (the 1st in Engineering in Macao), being its Founding Director. He was the Chair of UMTEC (UM company) from January 2009 to March 2019, supporting the incubation and creation in 2018 of Digifluidic, the first UM Spin-Off, whose CEO is a SKLAB PhD graduate. He was also a co-founder of Chipidea Microelectronics (Macao) [later Synopsys-Macao, and now Akrostar, where the CEO was his Ph.D student, with double-degree FST-UM/IST-UTL] in 2001/2002.

Prof. Rui Martins is an IEEE Fellow, was Founding Chair of IEEE Macau Section (2003-2005) and IEEE Macau Joint-Chapter on Circuits And Systems (CAS) / Communications (COM) (2005-2008) [2009 World Chapter of the Year of IEEE CAS Society (CASS)], General Chair IEEE Asia-Pacific Conference on CAS – APCCAS’2008, Vice-President (VP) Region 10 (Asia, Australia and Pacific) (2009-2011) and VP-World Regional Activities and Membership of IEEE CASS (2012-2013), Associate-Editor of IEEE Transactions on CAS II: Express Briefs (2010-2013), nominated Best Associate Editor (2012-2013). He is a member of the Advisory Board of the Journal of Semiconductors of the Chinese Institute of Electronics (CIE), Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences, since January 2021, and a Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligent Association since October 2021. He was also member of: IEEE CASS Fellow Evaluation Committee (Member: 2013, 2014 & 2019; Chair: 2018; Vice-Chair: 2021 & 2022); IEEE Nominating Committee of Division I Director (CASS/EDS/SSCS) (2014); and IEEE CASS Nominations Committee (2016-2017). In addition, he was General Chair of ACM/IEEE Asia South Pacific Design Automation Conference – ASP-DAC’2016, receiving the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) Outstanding Service Award in 2016, and also General Chair of the IEEE Asian Solid-State Circuits Conference – A-SSCC 2019. Besides, he received an Author Recognition Award at the 70 years of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), in 2023, as a Top Contributor with more than 50 papers. He was Vice-President (2005-2014), President (2014-2017) and now again Vice-President (2021-2024) of the Association of Portuguese Speaking Universities (AULP), in September 2021 was nominated Honorary Member of AULP (honor only bestowed on 5 people in the world). He also received 3 Macao Government decorations: the Medal of Professional Merit (Portuguese-1999); the Honorary Title of Value (Chinese-2001) and the Medal of Merit in Education (Chinese-2021). Since July 2010 was elected, unanimously, to the Lisbon Academy of Sciences, as Corresponding (2010-2022) and Effective Member (from 2022), being the only Portuguese Academician working and living in Asia.